2020 New Mexico Music Award Finalists Announced

Although interrupted by issues related to the COVID 19 pandemic, the finalists for this year’s NMMA’s have been announced.

While the annual banquet and show has been postponed to a later date, the 700 plus entries have whittled down to finalists in 40 categories. The New Mexico Music Awards is celebrating its 33rd year of recognizing excellence in music recorded in the state, from home studios to some of New Mexico’s most prestigious recording facilities.

This year finds quite a few finalists based in the southern part of the state, from Las Cruces to Ruidoso and even Truth or Consequences. Santa Fe artists are also amply represented with projects from Jaime Michaels, Tiho Dimitrov and even producer Jono Manson’s new recording project. Other studios as far north as Valdez (outside of Taos) and Farmington, east to Portales and west to Gallup are also represented with clusters of participating studios around Albuquerque and Santa Fe.

New to the fray are the artists Jackson Price and the Blue Rockets, Lucky Mays, Julia Cozby and Gleewood. Returning to the program are longtime participants David Kunciky, Kito Peters, Duke Weddington and Ron Crowder.

For a complete list of finalists, go to http://newmexicomusicawards.com/2020-finalists/

The New Mexico Music Awards is sponsored by Quickbeam Systems Audio, Lighting & Video, Guitar Center, listen!nm and Jason’s Music Publishing.