2019 New Mexico Music Awards Winners Announced

The 2019 New Mexico Music Awards were handed out on Sunday, May 19th, 2019 in a ceremony at Sandia Resort & Casino in Albuquerque. Awards were presented in 40 categories in a variety of genres.

There were a number of surprises this year with both new artists and veterans taking home awards. Kito Peters, one of New Mexico’s most prolific songwriters took home the Best of the Year award for his 2018 release “Soapbox,” produced by Jono Manson and Kito Peters at the Kitchen Sink Studio in Santa Fe. Nathan Dunton and Will Dyar were winners of the prestigious Norman Petty Producer Award for the Nathan Duton release “Love Runs to the Sea” recorded at Kabby Sound Studios in Santa Fe. John David Peters won the Best Song award for his composition “Don’t Take Me For a Hero” and the Best Video award went to Cala Zanella and Tiho Dimitrov for his song “Get the Bone.”

In addition, there were winners from Taos, Soccoro, Albuquerque, Española, Las Cruces, Tijeras, Rio Rancho and Ramah, New Mexico.

A special award was given out to Kylie, a young finalist in the Children’s Music category. Kylie wrote the song “Lullabye” just two weeks before her mother died as a result of domestic violence in Albuquerque. As a tribute to her mother, Kylie sang the song at her mother’s funeral. Kylie was awarded the first ever “Courage” award.

The New Mexico Music Awards is considering presenting Courage awards throughout the year for those musicians and music supporters in the New Mexico community who make a difference through their music activism.

Doug & Donna Geist, owners of the Santa Fe Center Studios in Albuquerque were presented the Eric Larson Lifetime Achievement Award. Each year the New Mexico Music Awards recognizes a musician or music industry professional who has contributed to the music community in New Mexico during their lifetime. Past recipients include Tom Bee, Arlen Asher, Hillary Smith and Nick Luchetti.

Some of the best moments from the event came during the performances from traditional Norteño band Lone Piñon, teen pop artist Chloë Nixon, songwriters Eb & Hal, Higher Ground Bluegrass, Native Hip-Hop artist G Precious and the all star performance from Mister Kali & Dre Z with Melissa Rios and Jamie Harrison. The groups performed music from each of their nominated entries.

This year marks their 32nd year of The New Mexico Music Awards recognizing the best of music recorded in New Mexico at it annual banquet and show. Throughout the year, the NMMA presents free music business, tech and arts workshops throughout New Mexico and works to promote New Mexico artists, producers, engineers and recording studios.

For a complete list of winners, go to http://newmexicomusicawards.com/2019-winners/

The New Mexico Music Awards is sponsored by Quickbeam Audio, Lighting & Video, listen!NM.com, The Candyman Strings & Things, Guitar Center of Albuquerque, Jason’s Music Publishing and Moonlight Talent Management.

Photography by Keith Langerman.