2018 New Mexico Music Awards Winners Announced | New Mexico Music Awards

2018 New Mexico Music Awards Winners Announced

The 31st annual New Mexico Music Awards is in the books an there were a few surprises this year.

Lara Manzanarez took home the Best of the Year trophy for her album “Land Baby” produced by Jono Manson at the Kitchen Sink Studios in Santa Fe. She also performed the title track from the album at the ceremony.

Sunday night was also a good night for Santa Fe based songwriter/producer Lisa Carman as she took home the Norman Petty Producer’s Award for her album “Stories” while her single “Ruin of Love” won awards for engineer Scott Shane and mastering engineer Michael McDonald. Her production of Gary Paul’s “Witness” won best gospel song as well.

Other individual veteran producers including John Wall, Dennis Jasso, Dobb C, Dave Heidt,  Mariam Funke, Duke Weddington and Ben Wright won in individual categories ranging from country, to jazz to best arrangement.

Newcomers to the program included Ron DeShazo and Stanley Thompson winning in the western and Native American categories, The Steelman/Rivers duo took home the novelty song award for their tune “Red of Green”, Greg Woodfin captured the blues recording award and singer/songwriter Svea won in the best vocal performance category. Best video honors went to Ryan Montaño for his production of Nosotros’ El El Mas Alla.

New Mexico becomes more attractive to artists from around the world and we saw awards go to American Idol contestant Crystal Bowersox for best cover song and Chicago ex-pat Ty Cooper winning in the jazz CD category for “I’m All For You”, produced by John Rangel.

This year, the winning recordings came studios around New Mexico including Albuquerque, Santa Fe, Tulurosa, Portales, Rio Rancho, Placitas, Bernalillo, Soccorro, Jacona and Los Alamos. The New Mexico Music Awards is a statewide program that also produces free workshops throughout the year for those wanting to know more about the music industry.

A complete list of winners is available at http://newmexicomusicawards.com/2018-new-mexico-music-award-winners/